Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Newsletters you can trust
Madison County Speak Up Leadership Team

The Speak Up Leadership Teams are guiding coalitions of 18-24 individuals whose main task is to lead the work of community engagement in Huntsville, Madison City, and Madison County. Each member is  regarded as an individual of influence in the community and considered a leader.  Team members believe that quality public education is the key to a competent, quality, sound workforce and a healthy, prosperous community. The teams are diversified and representative of the community.  Each team member has been recommended for this leadership role and has made a commitment to lead the Speak Up initiative for a twelve month period.

Leadership Team member responsibilities include:

  • Set the vision, inspire, motivate
  • Work to identify Leadership Team members representative of the community
  • Participate in the design, development and implementation of Speak Up
  • Participate in the communication of the initiative with communtiy members, organizations,  and businesses
  • Support the initiative with energy and resources
  • Meet regularlly with other Leadership Team members to review recent activities and to approve planned events
  • Participate in Leadership Team learning seminars
  • Occasionally attend community conversations,  Schools Foundation board meetings and public school board meetings
  • Identify and  recruit individuals for  Facilitators and the Community Action Team (CAT Team)
  • Work to ensure that supporting organizations, school boards, elected officials, and civic leaders are kept well-informed


Visit or contact the co-chairs for each district for more information or to volunteer to support this work.

Speak Up Chairs:

Note: Speak Up is an initiative of The Schools Foundation.  Leadership Team members who also serve on the Foundation Board of Directors are indicated with *.

*Dawn Stanley-NASA

*Scott McLain- Coldwell Commercial McLain Real Estate



Jenny Barrett- Sharon Johnson Park, co-chair

Tony Craig- Owens Cross Roads area, co-chair

Rosa Toussaaint-Ortiz- Hispanic community

Pam Price- Alabama Education Association representative, Hazel Green area

Dr. Willie Corlew- Hazel Green area

Tammy Pritchett- New Hope area

David Pritchett- New Hope area

Margaret Mann- New Hope area

Susan Christian- Owens Cross Roads area

Pamela McDonald- Sparkman area

Mary Grace Evans- Madison County High School area

Janet Fuqua

Lisa Sparks--Hazel Green

Dr. Claudia Styles--Legacy Elementary School

Sandra James--Sparkman High School area

LeAnn Richard--Central School area

*Loren Traylor--Buckhorn High School Area

Site by FuelHouse Media